Customer reviews for Sally Hansen Cosmetics Magnetic Nail Color

Sally Hansen Cosmetics Magnetic Nail Color

3-D Nail Art in Seconds! Revolutionary formula infused with metallic particles that move when exposed to the specially designed magnet to create an extraordinary effect
Overall Rating:
3.708 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 154 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
13
1 Star
28
110 out of 152(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Magnetic Nail Color
Review 1 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartenshi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well

Date:April 30, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying
If you follow the directions it works well.
When the directions say to do a base coat they mean in the magnetic nail polish, using a different nail polish as the base coat causes the polish to not work as well.
Also important: wait till the first coat is completely dry before doing the second coat.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarn2beingme72
Location:Virginia, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nail polish is pretty cool, must follow all the directions though!

Date:June 8, 2012
I use this product for... new product
I purchased the Red-y Response and it was my first experience with magnetic nail polish, so I was not sure what to expect. I read the directions on the bottle and had my workspace prepared. I applied my base coat and than a layer of polish to all nails, I than went back and applied a generous layer of polish to each nail individually and held the magnet to each nail for 30-40 seconds and nothing happened, nothing appeared. I was very frustrated and let down, but determined this product MUST work.
I went to website and watched the How-To Video and I wish I had done first!!! To get the tip of moving the magnet back and forth over the nail and to shake the nail polish each time before applying to each nail. Before starting again, I brushed the polish on some paper and waved the magnet and the design showed up instantly.
The way I got the design to show up was to have a very thick layer of polish, than hold the magnet and move it/rock it back and forth so the entire nail is exposed. Hold the magnet to the nail for 30 seconds.
I have gotten great compliments on my nails and the look. It is really simple now that I know the process, I will say that the design I always get is the deep wavy lines, but never able to get the silvery look they show in the ads.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarNalice
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:1-3 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun and fast, great buy!

Date:May 8, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I don't always write reviews for products but when I do (most interesting man in the world pose), it's for a reason. I'm not a girly girl and don't use cosmetics of any kind very often but I do love painting my nails. I have tried a number of nail polishes in different brands trying to find the one that balances longevity and chip-resistant. This one is the only one that lasts thru showers, dish washing and my laborious job approx at least 1 hour after drying! It usually lasts a couple of weeks for me. I usually do 2 regular coats with plenty of drying in between each and then a final third coat where I use the magnet. I do give it extra time to dry even though it dries pretty fast on its own. It's definitely my all time favorite nail polish. I always get compliments on how cool the effect looks :)
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLissa
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:3-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loved it.

Date:July 12, 2012
I use this product for... Fast-drying
I don't understand why people are saying that the product doesn't work. You first put on a clear base coat, let it dry. Second you put on the magnetic nail polish, let THAT dry too. After it's dry (and it doesn't take long, which I like) you put on a THICKER coat of the magnetic nail polish. It has to be a -little- thicker to draw up the material. As soon as you apply it (and I hope you're doing ONE NAIL at a time) place the magnet over the wet nail polish for at least 10 seconds, I found that the effect is almost instant, and didn't have to wait that long. Remove the magnet and..WALLAH. Do the same for the other 9 nails.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatardolphyn11
Location:Shawnee, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:5-10 years

Great idea and quality, just one

Date:August 31, 2012
I use this product for... looks/fast-drying
I was really excited to try this new product. Love the magnet effect idea. I purchased the Silver Elements color. Love the color of this polish before and after using the magnet. Also like the fact that the polish dries quickly!
My only complaint/suggestion is the magnet itself. Like most people, my nails are not completely flat. The magnet is flat so it only creates curves in the middle part of my nail. My suggestion would be a curved magnet so that the curves will show on my entire nail. Love the curves that did show up.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLuckyEvelyne
Location:Laval, Quebec, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:<1 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Helping me come out

Date:October 25, 2012
I use this product for... effect
This nail polish was the first one I ever put on my hands in my life, and I'm 31 years old. Why is that? Because I'm a transsexual woman who just came out, and I'm slowly learning to be comfortable with my femininity. I'm not sure exactly why, but the magnetic finish just makes me look at my fingers in awe, almost squealing with delight.
Not only does this help with my conversational skills, it also helps my self esteem and confidence. Probably not the original intended effect, but who cares? It's made me a Sally Hansen fan nonetheless!
+15points
23of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarKarey62
Location:Florida, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks professional

Date:February 23, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, appearance
It took a few tries to get the magnetic placement right, but now it is easy to do. Looks very dramatc and I always get compliments. I used Sally Hansen double duty as base and topcoat and it lasted a week even with frequent hand washing. I can't wait to try the copper one!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReview1
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremly Affective and 3D! This product beats salon nail art by far

Date:July 4, 2012
I use this product for... nail art, long lasting, 3d
I am in love with this product. When i first started putting on the heavy top coat and put the magnet on my nails, it didn't work I was so upset and confused, but it turned out that I was not holding the magnet close enough for it to create the nail art. I applied a thicker coat on my nails and put the magnet closer I was amazed because it looked just like the picture on the add. I am satisfied with the product and love it! It's beauty science indeed
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarTraci78
Location:Westerville
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For once! A product that works as advertised!

Date:June 24, 2012
I use this product for... Fast-drying
I've always been a Sally Hansen fan but was not impressed with the crackle polishes, so I was skeptical to try Magnetic...especially for $10.00 (though, I got it for $9.00 on sale at Walgreen's). But my daughter kept asking if we could get it so I surprised her with Red-y Response. I tried it on one of my own nails first and fell in love! I did it on my daughters nails and it looks fantastic!!!! So satisfied! The only things I think I would change are the price because I definitely want more and is it possible to curve the magnet so it reaches thethe sides of the nail better? I found myself rolling it back and forth risking bumping the nail. Again, overall, LOVED!!! Can't wait to see what they come up with next!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarAmlyMei
Location:Nevada, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:1-3 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Couldn't get it to work!

Date:May 30, 2012
I couldn't get the nail polish to work for me. I'm not sure If I wasn't moving fast enough, putting to little on or to much.
I picked up the silver ("silver elements") at walmart for about 9 dollars, a pretty big splurge on my part. I got it home and was very excited to try it. I tried it on a piece of paper and it looked amazing. However, when I tried to do it on my nails it didn't want to work!
I applied a base coat before applying, then shook the bottle just like the instructions say before applying a thin first coat. The polish itself is nicely opaque but i still needed a 2nd coat. On the second coat I put a nice coat on and quickly grabbed the magnet, held for 10 second and when I lifted I had a think black line taking up about 3/4 of my pinkie. Not what I wanted.
I repeated this doing each nail separably, some nails I wouldn't get any waves, (even after re-shaking the bottle and applying another coat), some would give me a big blob of black that wasn't attractive looking, others I'd get small flecks of black but I never did get a nice even wave like I did on paper.
I tried on paper after taking the nail polish off and had no problem. I'm not sure if maybe I'm putting to much nail polish on,I'm to slow, or its the nail polish. Overall for 9 bucks I probably won't try this again, and I'll be returning it.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFrugalzmkmom
Location:Apex, NC, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:American Indian
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product even for Kids!!!

Date:December 6, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant, effects
I'm not sure why there are any negative reviews about this product. I would assume if consistency is required, one would go to the nail salon?! I believe one of the reasons this product is so wonderful is because of its unique designs it creates. It's not ordinary and plain. One of my 3 year old daughters favorite activities to do is nails and make-up. This product works fast enough that even her busy toddler self has a difficult time "messing up" her nails. She loves the look and the various colours available. As for the price, I don't think $1 is too much to spend on nail polish for anyone!! I believe myself to be one of the most tight pursed women I know. I bought every single colour they had at the store for the price of a regular bottle of nail polish(even the cheap brand). If you are spending more than $1 for this product, you're buying it at the wrong store. Thanks SH for a great product my daughter and I both can enjoy.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFlutters
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TIP to keep polish from wearing off.

Date:December 4, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, it's cool!
I saw where someone stated that this polish doesn't stay on. TIP- always clean your nails with polish remover before applying any polish, and don't touch them! The oils from your hands get on the nail and polish doesn't stay on as well. This polish does stay on for days. I have worn it for a week.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarcloistergirl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works... looks good... stays on

Date:October 23, 2012
I use this product for... effect
I haven't painted my fingernails for, like, 10 years. I haven't cared for it since I was a teenager. I got this polish in purple for my toenails but after painting one nail couldn't see the effect so gave my fingernails a shot. After removing the magnet from the first nail I was shocked to see the pattern actually there and I exclaimed aloud. I did the rest of the nails and a couple of them the pattern didn't turn out, but I applied another layer of polish and tried again and it came out. I think I didn't have enough polish on the first time. I don't know what people are talking about it coming off in the shower... I have an infant so I wash my hands roughly 10 thousand times a day and it's still fine a day and a half later, and I didn't even use a top coat. The only thing I would say doesn't work well is that besides the big toe, toenails might be too short for the magnetic wave pattern to be effective. I plan to get the graphite color as well.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarBashy32000
Location:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:1-3 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cool effect, but takes time

Date:October 3, 2012
I use this product for... neat effect, unique look
I finally got a bottle, Polar Purple, and it took four tries to finally get the look right. I agree with all the others that the magnet needs to be rounded to get the effect on the sides as well as top of the nail. Also, I had a first coat of polish on already, and applied a heavy layer, and held the magnet for 30 seconds over the middle, then moved the magnet slightly over for 20 seconds in both directions. Before applying to each nail, I also shook the bottle well. So make sure you have time to apply and wait for it to dry. Even though it is fast drying, the thick layer still takes longer to dry fully. I was finally happy with the outcome, 2-3 wavy stripes on each nail depending on the length of the nail. I will buy more colors.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRayne
Location:Western, NY, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it.

Date:September 3, 2012
I use this product for... neat effect
I wrote this review in response of negative ones.
I normally buy cheap dollar nail polish in single colors. I wanted to try this an i think its neat. I have short nails an still got several waves. I did not shake the bottle or do a thick second coat, nor a base coat. It was a lil time consuming but not difficult to achieve results. An worked on every nail first time. I do think the price in general stores is high, an for the price it should not chip as it does.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmyantim
Location:westbury,ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The nail polish did exactly what it said it was going to do.

Date:July 15, 2012
I use this product for... something new
I'm 60, been doing my own nails since 12-you do the math. I followed the directions and let ALL COATS DRY, IT DOES DRY RATHER QUICKLY.
fOR THE SECOND COAT APPLY IT HEAVIER. THEN BRING YOU FINGER AND THE TOP TO EYE LEVEL PUT THE THINNIE ON OR JUST BELOW YOU CUTICLE,COUN TO 10. DONE. I LEARNED BY KEEPING IT EYE LEVEL i dodn't touch the magnet to the nail.
 
Products related to my content
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJill50
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product - Love it!

Date:June 13, 2012
User submitted photo
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
SH Magnetic Nail Color worked for me exactly as advertised. I read the directions on the bottle, plus I watched a tutorial on YouTube before applying for the first time. The only thing I did different is I applied a top coat of Shellac and dried under my UV dryer. With this method the polish lasts about a week before it starts to chip on the ends. I do a lot of gardening and a lot of dog bathing and the polish holds up beautifully. I get compliments constantly on it and many people ask if my nails are airbrushed. To those interested in trying it I always suggest they watch a video tutorial before applying.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarspotlight1946
Location:Greenville, NC, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:Black or African American
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So cute!

Date:June 10, 2012
I use this product for... effects
I love this product. It has really cool 3D effects. When I first saw it I could not wait to try it!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmandy
Location:Paris, TN 38242, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't follow bottle instructions!

Date:December 29, 2012
I use this product for... unique
I always have a beautiful turnout with my nails. I use ONE coat and hold the magnet to it while the polish is still wet. ONE coat NOT two like the instructions say
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Magnetic Nail Color
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar1luv
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:Other
Sally Hansen Usage:3-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

polish on the magnetic piece

Date:August 17, 2012
I accidently got polish on the top of the magnetic piece and so now it doesn't work either way. I tried it with the polish on it, even I used a q tip with just ah lil nail polish remover to try and wipe it off it still didn't work so I'm just a lil disappointed because I did pay ten for it and it was only my second time using it!! I don't know if I'd advise someone else to purchase it unless they put further instructions on what to do in a case as such
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>