Customer reviews for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Sally knows nails are the best accessory. Now, Sally makes it easy to get a salon effect any time, any place. It wears like nail polish because it IS nail polish. No dry time, so you’re ready to go.
Overall Rating:
4.102 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(665 reviews) 665
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 665 reviews
5 Stars
337
4 Stars
197
3 Stars
50
2 Stars
24
1 Star
57
557 out of 647(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Review 1 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarChels
Location:The Colony, TX, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:1-3 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best thing I've found for my nails...

Date:May 4, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant, awesomeness
I refuse to pay 30 dollars every couple weeks when it's better spent (or not) elsewhere. Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips has been a fabulous option for me! It takes a few applications to learn how to apply it. For those who say it's dry - well, it ISN'T sticky. It does work if you spend the time to learn how to make it work. I can wear a set for two good weeks before needing to re-up the strips. My only complaint is that there are not enough colors to choose from, and the patterns....wow. If you want to target the mature crowd, you should start asking for some decent ideas. Most of the patterned strips look like a 12 year old girl picked them out. Looking forward to new ones!!
+40points
44of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarEvie
Location:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Sally Hansen Usage:3-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So much BANG for your buck!

Date:September 27, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I absolutely LOVE these. They're a great deal - especially if you want beautifully polished nails without the cost of a salon manicure or the time consuming process of multiple coats of nail polish!
I've had friends use these and have been frustrated when they haven't come out perfectly. I can't put enough emphasis on taking your time with the application and have learned this is the biggest challenge with Salon Effects! If you want them to look great, you have to take the time to carefully do them! This is not to say it should take multiple hours. I can take 20 minutes out of my day, and if I follow the directions and sit in good lighting, they come out beautifully and I can get them to last for more than 10 days! I have practically eliminated regular nail polish from my life and now solely use Salon Effects. As long as Sally Hansen continues to make these, I'll continue to buy them!
TIP:
I always apply them at night when I'm completely ready for bed. That way after I apply them, I hop in to bed and don't need to use my hands for a few hours! This allows them to really start to set overnight and harden on your nails. Then the first thing I do in the morning is apply a clear top coat and I'm ready to go!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarCourt
Age:25-34
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

***CAN LAST UP TO 3 WEEKS! HERES THE TRICK!!!

Date:July 9, 2012
First split the smaller strips in half to use twice on small toes this way u will have enuff to do full set of nails & toes, cuz once u open them they will dry up no matter what u try, trust me! Dont stretch them too much when applying this will damage the print, now the trick is, just like getting the real Minx foils put on my nails I apply a little heat from blow dryer & press them on good then apply "Gelous" gel top coat purchased from Sally beauty supply store( also works great on top of reg. polish) its about $6 put about 2 coats, my nails go thru alot & will last 2/3 weeks, toes last about 4/6 weeks! Amazing stuff if u do it right! Just follow these steps! Good luck!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarDarbie
Location:Austin, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

All depends on the age of the strips!

Date:April 26, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
When I am lucky enough to purchase a good box of these, they are fantastic! I have a real problem with my nails cracking & splitting and so I can't use anything that is hard on my nails. The nail strips do a wonderful job of "camouflaging" my not so perfect nails. I had one color that I loved that had NO pattern but, everytime I am able to find it now, the product has dried out, and the strips won't separate correctly or adhere properly. There needs to be an expiration date on these!!! Also, because many older women have problem nails, please make some solid color choices for us! So bottom line - great when they work, money & time wasted when they don't, and need plain color selections for more "mature" women.
+23points
27of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAlli32
Location:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best manicure outside of a salon!!!

Date:July 3, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant, professional look, great patterns, Easy to use
I have to admit that I was slow to try Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips, even though I've been curious about them for quite a while. I finally purchased and tried the pink zebra-striped pattern. I usually struggle to get a smooth bubble-free result from even expensive polishes. These strips were a breeze to use! They went on easily just as outlined in the instructions, and the box actually contained a very cute little nail file that I can use again. And not a single bubble! I am receiving so many compliments, and even people who pay to have the expensive shellac put on by a professional don't believe me when I tell them I did them at home with strips. I used to pay for shellac myself. Not any more! I can get two uses out of each box for fairly short nails. They've been on for a week and a half now and even lasted through a difficult obstacle 5K (I really doubted they would make it) with barely a tiny chip in one nail. It looks to me like they will last another week with no trouble. I just apply a thin clear Sally Hansen topcoat on every two or three days to help them last. Give this product a try! Take your time and do them right, and you won't believe the results!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarsingleinaz
Location:San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:3-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad bling

Date:April 29, 2013
i just got the bling it nails . first box was great second was really bad would not stick on nails ! just fell out. someone at work told me they were old thats why they didnt stick on. hey i just spent 12.oo i want my money back !!! if this is true you should add a date code!!!!! waste of money.you never know what you are going to get and they store will not take them back they are used!!!
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMichelle48
Location:Schererville, IN, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:<1 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Please bring seasonal themes

Date:September 26, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying
Love your product! On day 10 today and they still look perfect. (I put 2 coats of clear polish on the first day) I would love to see seasonal themes like fall leaves, pumpkins, holiday candy canes, or snow flakes.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPolishPerfect
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love them!

Date:August 6, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing
My nails break easily and I NEVER get a manicure because my nail polish chips in a day. The nail polish strips last me for 10 days. I use Raise a Glass because it's the only solid color I can find locally that I could wear to work. DO NOT USE A TOP COAT OVER THE NAIL STRIPS! Follow directions EXACTLY as given. Also, make sure all the ridges on your nails have been removed with the file otherwise you'll see them with the strips on.
A hint I got from my daughter is to apply the polish strip on your nail and use the torn of section for another nail. I only use half of the package to do both hands.
One thing I have found is that if my nail has a snag in it I can file it without damaging the polish.
Removing the strips was a bit difficult at first but now I can remove them with less than one cotton ball! (Found the technique on the Internet) Just pull off ten TINY pieces of cotton from one ball. You should have more cotton leftover. Dip the end of the cotton just enough to soak the piece of cotton halfway up with remover. Set it on your nail and do the same for the rest of your hand. Let sit for a few minutes and remove polish. Repeat with your other hand.
I have wide nails so the small strip is useless and I could use one more larger strip.
The color selection is poor for professional dress. Especially if I'm wearing them for 10 days. Please offer a natural/nude selection. Also, several large retailers in my area only carry the patterns and glitter selections.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMirele0169
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE IT!!!

Date:September 19, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I love these!!! The trick is to make sure your nails are VERY clean by using nail polish remover, then buffing out the nail bed with an emery board all arond the nail where the polish will adhere being sure to push back the cuticles, etc. THEN cleaning again with nail polish remover to remove all the dust and any remaining oil on the nail. It also helps that your hands are warm.
These work like a charm for me each and every time, they are fast, and easy to use and they look GREAT!! I get compliments on them all the time. And mine always last anywhere from 5 - 7 days.
I may never polish my nails every again, I hope this product keeps adding new designs and lasts for years and years to come.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarlucysmama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lasts well but fit not too great!

Date:July 17, 2012
I use this product for... Fast-drying, ease
I tried Sweet Tartan and it looked great and has worn about a week with only a little wearing on the tips - a top coat probably would have helped with this but the instructions did not say a top coat could be used so I was afraid to try. My complaint would be that they do not come in larger sizes and the standard pack did not cover my nails from side to side. The pattern made it impossible to stretch them - even with warm hands - due to the pattern tearing too easily. I used a whole pack due to tearing a few and the smallest ones in the kit are all but useless as they are too small even for a pinky! Make a S, M, L pack, please!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLadyB
Location:Beach, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10 Minutes to Perfect, Dry, Looooong Lasting nails!

Date:April 20, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant, super easy application
This product is fabulous! Worked perfect from the 1st try and every use after! Have perfect, beautiful, dry & ready to go nails in 10 minutes!!!! They also last FOREVER! The box says 10 days, but I have a 5yo and they all last 10 days AT LEAST, but I have have them last 2 1/2 weeks! My only complaint is not being able to find all the shades/prints! Seems like the same 15 in every store. I saw an article w neons, bright colors & some really great choices, but can't find them!!!! Otherwise I would have given 5 stars! Heck-if I could find all 40 I wld give 6 stars! 7 stars if you added more selection & kept up w trends (brights & neons) & seasonal strips-like the eggs & chicks for Easter in 2011
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarnewcs
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hoping I got a bad one

Date:December 17, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I bought the ice blue color at Rite Aid and really liked it at first. It was a little more difficult for me to put on than regular nail polish (left hand was easier, right hand, more difficult) and I loved that it had no drying time. But then I had these issues:
1. The thumbs (which were on the top of the pack) were super faded. I didn't realize til I had put them on but they're actually silver instead of blue.
2. A couple of the edges peeled up. I stuck them back down and coated everything with top coat. Then a couple more popped up so I repeated. Nothing is popping up now but a couple dried curled. You can't tell but it's getting snagged on nylons and stuff.
3. These are expensive. They were close to $10 in Rite Aid but on sale for $2.44. I'd pay $2.44 for this but it was not worth even close to $10.
4. I put these on Saturday. It's now monday and the cuticle corner of my index finger and the nail edge corner of my middle finger have chipped. I'm thinking these won't last 10 days as I'd hoped.
All in all, I'd get the patterns again if I wanted to wear them for a day or two but for everyday wear, this was overpriced and not the quality I expected. I'm hoping I just got a bad pack.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMeMawto5
Location:Victoria, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:<1 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Find

Date:May 2, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, convenient no wait time
I tried Salon Effect for the first time a week ago today. I purchased for 3/$12 at my local Walgreens. What a great idea. I think I will give all my 30+ bottles of nail polish to my granddaughters and just wear these.
I have gotten compliments every singe day for the last week, from family, co workers, and even a Transportation truck driver. The have stayed on great. and I would highly recommend them to anyone. I do dishes by hand, shower and shampoo my ear everyday and and they are still on looking great! Please come out with more designs!!
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsnlstone
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy and lasts longer with clear top coat!

Date:May 9, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I type and file a lot at work and occasionally help my husband on his motorcycle. These help with my constant chipping of the nails and drying out also it helps them grow faster, which I love. I tried these for the first time and I am in love with them. Its been 10 days and they barely look chipped. These last way longer than with any simple nail polish at home or from the salon. The only recommendation i have is please have more size options and more strips.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarHellena
Location:Venice, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:Black or African American
Sally Hansen Usage:3-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product...the only thing I would change is....

Date:September 4, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Chip-resistant
The price.
I tried these after a recommendation from a girlfriend. I purchased the french tips and to my delight they looked great, lasted two weeks, and didn't require any more than the application of the strips to keep them looking fabulous!!
Given the fact that french tips ALWAYS chip after a manicure visit no matter how careful you are these are a blessing in disguise. I do wish they would come down on price a bit. I understand why the gel polish is more expensive but these do not require the same labor.
Come on Sally, give us ladies a break and come down on price? Please!!!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarNyrak
Location:St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Non-Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'll never go back to liquid polish!

Date:March 27, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, easy application
I had all but given up on keeping my nails done. The drying time was impossible, I always messed them up before they were dry. No more! I love the designs and the ease of application. Not to mention the manicures really stand up to the abuse of a woman that works construction, usually without gloves.
I would really like to suggest a flame design? I have a lot of design ideas ... But flames would be a big seller!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatardivegirl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly Recommend!!!

Date:November 19, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I cannot recommend this enough!!! Looks awesome, easy to apply and lasts forever!!! I use these on my toes and I can get a full month out of them! I am terrible at painting my toes or hands and these strips help so much.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFela398
Location:El Paso, TX, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Please make more classic colors!

Date:September 23, 2012
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Chip-resistant
I am a nurse and because of constant hand-washing and alcohol products my nail polish chips easily. This is the only product that works!!! I love it and even though it lasts longer, I change it every week. But I'm running out of colors. Please make more natural and classic colors! I have all my nurse friends hooked on this too! Thank you for a great product. Looking forward to seeing more colors!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avataranna15
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing look

Date:December 4, 2013
I use this product for... Long-wearing, Fast-drying, Chip-resistant
I love this product.
- EASY to apply
- No dings
- Looks BETTER than many salon manicures
- Lasts long
My only issues it that I wish there were more understated options. Is it possible to make something like plain pink or red?
I'd wear these ALL the time if there were some understated options!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAgoodchef
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ethnicity:White (Hispanic or Latino)
Sally Hansen Usage:10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Short nails = can use twice

Date:October 5, 2012
I use this product for... cool patterns!!, simple to use, look amazing
I have shorter nails and found I could use both sides of the strips therefor getting two uses out of each box.
GREAT product. Never been good at doing nails but this is fairly easy. I put a top coat on and so far they've lasted a while.
Need more patterns and seasonal ones too!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 next>>